Month: July 2012

  • Did you grow up in a Christian home?

    I’ve asked this question: “Did you grow up in a Christian Home?” to dozens of friends over the years as I learn their story of how they came to faith in Christ.

    The response to this question is normally the same:

    “Well, we went to church but that was about as much ‘Christianity’ that was in our home. I didn’t see my parents live out their faith. I didn’t see them read their bibles. And going to church was just the thing to do, but didn’t really change how my parents lived.”

    Oh friends, let our children NOT say this about us!

    Let’s live our faith out in every area of our life! Let’s not make our faith a Sunday only thing!

    If an agnostic said they were a Sunday only agnostic and every other day of the week they believed there was a God, we’d laugh!

    But friends, isn’t that what we do when we go to church on Sunday, yet live the other 6 days of our lives for ourselves? 

    Let us make family worship part of every day. (Family worship doesn’t have to be a big daunting task, but reading a few verses to your kids, talking about what they mean, singing a song together, and prayer!)

    Let us train our kids in spiritual disciplines! Show your children what quiet time looks like, show them how you do it, help them realize and see the pure delight that comes from being in the Word daily!

    Let us live in harmony with one another in the 4 walls of our house. Let us think of others above ourselves, starting with our husbands and children (or brothers and sisters).

    Let us not tell our kids to do one thing, but do something else yourself. Double standards and hypocrisy will turn your children far away from the Lord!

    My prayer is when the boys are older and someone asks, “Did you grow up in a Christian home?” They say, “Yes, my parents were the real deal. They loved Jesus on Sunday morning and they loved Jesus on Tuesday afternoon. They believed the Word of God and tried to obey it! They weren’t one way with one person and then another way with another person. They didn’t gossip or slander people. They weren’t critical of others who had different personal convictions than our family. They trained us in godliness and righteousness. They cared more about our hearts than our grades or sporting ability. They loved each other with a love that overflowed from their own love of God. They were always growing, never content to stop trying to be more like Christ. They read their bible every day and showed me the treasure that is in God’s Word. And most of all they laid it all down for the sake of Christ, no matter what, because they cared more about the things of God, than things of this world!”

    Only through and by God’s grace will that be their answer!

  • Motherhood Sanctifies You

    You know God brings things into your life to sanctify you! To make you more like Christ! From the moment we’re justified (freely given eternal life based on nothing we do) we begin the process of progressive sanctification which will continue till Christ comes back or we die! That’s just reality! No one can escape sanctification! 

    Well yesterday was one of those mommy days that challenged my sanctification!

    I share this because I am a big cheerleader of VERY consistent discipline. I also believe that much of the really intense discipline is from age 18 months till 5. That’s when you, as parent, have the challenge of teaching your child who is in charge. They must learn the line of proper, God given authority! It’s KEY! But you don’t want to break their spirit. There’s a fine balance of capturing their heart, but being firm and following through. NO EMPTY words around here! If mama says it, it happens!

    Well, yesterday that was challenged!

    Clark is in the middle of potty training. On Saturday he decided he didn’t want to wear diapers! Great! I am all for being done with diaper duty!

    In the morning he peed twice on the carpet, after pretty much staying dry Saturday till Monday. (Oh we’ve gone cold turkey, no diaper, no pull ups…just diapers at bedtime)

    So an hour after he went, I said, “Let’s go into the potty and go pee.”

    We went in there and he said, “I don’t want to go.”

    “Let’s try!” I said

    “No I don’t want to try.” he replied. 

    I felt the battle begin!

    I told him that he would stay in the bathroom until he went pee! Thinking that would work…HA!

    He was in the bathroom (with the door open and not sitting on the toilet, but just in the bathroom) for THREE HOURS! He ate lunch in there!

    Finally he said, “I am ready to go!” He climbed on the potty and went!

    WOW! Three hours! It wore me out! Now if you’re not a mom you may not understand being worn out, but it felt like a battle of the wills and it mentally drained me!

    But I am all about no empty words and in all honesty this was one of the hardest things to follow through on. 

    Then this morning we decided to go to the park. A must around here is to go potty before we leave to go anywhere. Clark could have gone, it had been an hour or so, but he refused. I said, “If you don’t go pee, daddy will stay home with you and you don’t get to go on the surprise!” (The boys didn’t know where we were going!)

    He cried, but refused to pee! Thankfully I had John to support me on this one!

    So John and Clark stayed home! Again that was a super hard follow through! I wanted to enjoy a family day!

    WOW he’s stubborn!

    I texted John to meet us for lunch, so John told Clark to go pee and he could meet us for lunch.

    Guess what!? He peed! 

    So as a mom we must be consistent! Say what we mean and mean what we say!

    So yes I feel like God is using this in a couple of ways…for one showing me how I look when I dig in my heels and refuse to obey and how He must feel when His children are really stubborn! I pray He uses this time to make me more like Jesus!

    Anyone have any stories of times they’ve had to have really tough follow through?

     

  • First day of school ~ 2012-2013

    Wow! Year 4 of homeschooling and honestly it only gets more fun! (Look at bottom of post to see “first day of school” for the first 3 years…amazing how little they were!)

    Last year we completed our first year of My Father’s World 1st grade and I can’t say enough good things about My Father’s World! We LOVED it! It was a perfect fit for our family and totally teacher friendly!

    This year Miles and Luke will both be doing My Father’s World Adventures for their core curriculum.

    They both also will be doing Alpha Math-U-See. (I wish I would have done Alpha last year…oh well! No need to stress over math!)

    With My Father’s World you add reading and spelling at age appropriate level. 

    Miles will be doing Rod and Staff spelling and Primary Language Lessons.

    Luke will finish up: Teach your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons (He became super frustrated with this and so we put it aside and waited till he was more ready). When he is finished with that we will work through: My Father’s World First Grade Student Workbook and First grade Bible reader.

    Of course we’ll have lots of library days and fun adventures in the year to come!

    The reason we are starting in the middle of summer is we do a 6 week on, 2 off schedule pretty much year round and then we took 8 weeks off (May/June). Plus we will be taking 3 weeks off in September, so I wanted a good amount of school under our belt before we have that long of a break!

     

     

    First day!

    My awesome 2nd grader!

    My amazing 1st grader!

    My adorable preschooler (my goal for him is shapes, colors, and potty training!)

    This is our general schedule! 

    After a trip to the dollar store and the library Luke and Miles came home to color, Luke worked on his American flag!

    Always fun to get new markers!

    Luke drew this (without being told or asked) of the USA!

     

     

    First day of school 2009-2010

    First day of school 2010-2011

    First day of school 2011-2012