December 20, 2011

  • Waiting for my turn?

    Oh the heartache friends are going through. Cancer, marriage problems, miscarriages, long term illness, death of close family members, very sick children, prodigal children, financial issues, broken family relationships, deep wounds that have resurfaced, and the list goes on....people are walking through deep, dark valleys.

    At this point in my life, things are going good...we have a house, food on the table, healthy boys, a wonderful marriage, a clear vision for ministry...I have nothing to complain about.

    Part of me feels like...when will it be my turn? When will my test come?

    It says in Hebrews 12:10b "God disciplines us for our good, in order that we may share in his holiness."

    2 Corinthians 1:5 "For just as the sufferings of Christ are ours in abundance, so also our comfort is abundant through "

    1 Peter 4:12 "Beloved, do not be surprised at the fiery trial when it comes upon you to test you, as though something strange were happening to you."

    As a follower of Christ I must expect that trials will come my way. They come as a way of drawing me closer to the heart and holiness of God. 

    (I also believe we will be carried away by temptation and experience loss and pain, not from God, but as a result of our sin. Consequences of giving into temptations and God's trials are two different things.)

    How will I respond?

    If God took away my husband, my kids, my health, my home....see that's just it...it's not mine...it's God's! He's given, He can take away. Yes, there's grief to be had, there would be morning and sadness...but could I honestly say, "Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return. The LORD gave, and the LORD has taken away; blessed be the name of the LORD.” Job 1:12

    My turn will come, a time and season of testing will come, but I pray by God's grace all glory will go to Him. God will give me the grace needed to take one step in front of the next. He won't show me the outcome of my trial (most likely), but He does promise that His grace is sufficient. (“My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness. 2 Cor 1:5)


Comments (1)

  • Those times of trial come very unexpected and just when everything seems to be going good and you have all YOUR plans laid out. We are still in the midst of our trial. But we have learned "our ways are not God's ways, His ways are higher". We have been resting in His care and the love and faithfulness of those around us. He supplies grace for those trials only when we need it not when we think about trials. Trials are good for growing closer to Him but they are not our choice. Thanks for the thought provoking post. Lean on Him now so you can lean on Him then.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *