January 21, 2012

  • Why we don’t use the word gosh

    This week on facebook I asked what people think when they see: OMG. 

    Most agreed they think God, so they try to write out OMGoodness or OMW (for oh my word), or OMGosh.

    The discussion lead to why some of us don’t use the word gosh.

    Before I share why we don’t use the word, let me say that this is a personal conviction. Some may say it’s a biblical conviction, but I am just not totally sure in my heart I can say that. I do think many don’t know the origin of the word gosh and that’s why I am sharing my thoughts.

    On Dictionary.com is states that the Origin: 1750–60;  euphemistic alteration of God

    An euphemism is: the substitution of a mild, indirect, or vague expression for one thought to be offensive, harsh, or blunt.

    An alteration is: the process of modifying

    So I see the word gosh as taking the phrase “Oh my God” and modifying it so it’s not as offensive or harsh.

    This is why we don’t use the word gosh. 

    What are your thoughts about this word??

Comments (1)

  • Thanx Heather … I have always used gosh because I didn’t want to take the Lord’s name in vain…I even wondered when I used OMG if people would know I meant “gosh”. Well now that I know what it means,I too won’t be using it anymore. Big hug to you my friend!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *